GUEST
  20 6 3 View All View All image html 2000 100
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Improvements/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
15
Garage, Utility & Maintenance
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Water Leak Alarm - Set of 3 3.8 5 78 78
Saved my floors! When I moved into my new apartment, it was suggested that I get an alarm on the A/C unit to notify me of leaks. This alarm was $250 and I have 2 units. When I found these, I decided to try them instead and I am so happy I did! I have these all over the house! I put them by the washer, by both A/C units and under the sink. I came home one night and heard a sound. I thought my smoke alarm batteries were out, but I had just changed them. I started investigating & found the alarm coming from the pan under the A/C unit. It was full of water! I turned off the unit & called the plumber & my floors were saved! Had I not had the alarms. the water would have overflowed the pan & probably destroyed my hardwood floor before I knew about it! And to think, these only cost me $20 for 3 (I bought a dozen!) instead of a $250 alarm! May 15, 2014
Cheap Insurance and Great Customer Service After being plagued with clogged drains and costly clean ups, I found these inexpensive gadgets and decided this was cheap insurance. If you can catch the leak before it gets too extensive, it saves so much time, energy and money. Also when these first arrived, only two of the three sensors worked, so I sent them an email and later that day, I got a phone call telling me they would send me another order of three, with no requirement to return the broken one. So I essentially received five sensors for the price of three. You can't get customer service like that anymore! April 4, 2014
Time will tell I don;t know if this product works as advertised or not. We have not had a situation arise that has tested it. We did have a major problem (Hot water heater burst in the middle of the night) where a product like this could have saved us thousands of dollars. I hope the product will not be "tested", but feel better having it placed in strategic spots in our home...just in case. October 24, 2011
Water Leak Alarms This is our first experience with the product. If it works as advertised, it is a great product!! March 14, 2012
Could be louder Just purchased these Water Leak Alarms, and after testing them they seem to do what they should. I haven't had an actually leak emergency yet, but pouring water on basement floor made the alarm sound. Only thing that I would prefer would be if they could be louder, but I can still hear them when upstairs. Louder would be better though. I'd recommend these to friends with water issues. March 27, 2012
cost for product good only just got will see if works when wet how loutd it is April 3, 2012
Item is small and easy to place in small areas and inconspicuous Tested alarm. Definately loud. Hopefully, they will not go off, but appreciate the safeguard of leaks. Plan to order 6 more for other areas in my and daughter's homes. June 22, 2012
Water leak alarms This product is compact and simple. It appears to be working well. Would have liked to heard a louder alarm. June 29, 2012
Could be Louder The water detector alarms are a good value but they should be louder. I'm not sure if I'll be able to hear one if I'm upstairs on the main floor and the unit is in the cellar, but still, I like them and have placed them by my 2 sump pumps and one by the washing machine. June 29, 2012
One out of three ain't good When we tested the three of them only two worked. Thank goodness we have not had water in the basement to see how they work. July 13, 2012
water leak alarms Living in an older house and have experienced leaks under the cabinets and toilets, would give anything to know of water before it's too late. Will give it a try for peace of mind. October 23, 2012
Good product I haven't actually HAD to use them yet but I did test them in my sink before placing each one. Not quite as loud as I had expected. Put one downstairs by my water heater inside a closed off room, kind of doubt if it will wake me up in the night, upstairs, if something happens! Just wish they were a little louder, but otherwise great product! December 5, 2012
Water leak alarm These really work, the only problem with them is that the alarm needs to be louder, my water problems are in the basement and I can only hear it going off if I am in the kitchen which is right above the alarm. February 12, 2013
Review of product I have placed the leak alarms near my washer, dishwasher and water heater but have not yet a leak to test how they work. May 30, 2013
nice product I have them in my basement around my sump pump and near my washing machine. I tested them first and they all seemed to work fine. I just wish the alarm on them was louder because I don't think I would be able to hear it upstairs. Might have to put a baby monitor down there to hear it. June 8, 2013
water alarms they are good, but the sound produced is not very loud and would be muffled by being under a vanity cabinet, which is where there would most likely be used. battery is non replaceable, supposed to last 3 years. July 3, 2013
Water Leak Alarms-I heard it all the way upstairs! I got several sets of these after our basement flooded a few years ago. I bought some for my neighbor because hers flooded at the same time ours did. I have them near my sump pump and also near my washing machine and our water main in the basement. They tested and work great! I was even upstairs in the kitchen when I heard a high pitch noise coming from the basement. I went down and found that one of these little alarms was getting wet from the leaking knob of our water main. Thank goodness for these alarms! If I hadn't had them, my entire paneled wall would have been wrecked. My neighbor laughingly calls these her "water detection army" because she has them surrounding her sump pump hole like an army of little men. :) Her sump pump was fine, but they actually ended up alerting her to a small bit of dampness seeping in her foundation that she was completely unaware of. July 22, 2013
Water Leak Alarm I test one of the alarms with a wet cloth to ensure it will alarm and it did. If my basement floods again (I pray not), I am trusting that the alarms will work in appropriate places in my basement. April 14, 2014
Good value I ordered a dozen of these and sprinkled them around the house, under each sink, by each toilet, and by the sump pumps and water heater. One unit went off when in a bathroom. It was set on the floor by the toilet, and the floor was not wet. It happened after someone had taken a shower. (triggered by humidity?) Removed that one, the others have behaved so far. August 2, 2014
Can't really review this product... I bought the Water Leak Alarms because we had some flooding in our basement this summer. But since they're single use only, I can't try them and review them, so I guess all I can say is I'm glad I found them (they were recommended by someone who had them already), and I certainly HOPE they work when I need them! I will say the ease of buying them was great, the site is awesome, and there's lots more I'll be looking at in the future from the Improvements catalog! October 28, 2011
2 out of 3 ain't bad - clever, small, but not loud enough A similar, yet larger device from Radio Shack at roughly the same price was much more effective because it was louder. I had to have one in the garage and needed to be able to hear it inside the house. March 7, 2012
Water Leak Alarm set is good My only comment is that alarm sound could be louder. But, given the small size of the units, I guess that would be difficult. I used the units in under-sink cabinets. September 14, 2012
2 of 3 Water Leak Alarm worked correctly The item is great however the instruction tell you to test each water Leak alarm, but when I did this only 2 of 3 worked. October 4, 2012
Floods These tested well. Hope I never hear them go off but having them gives some comfort that we won't wake up to a flooded basement May 16, 2013
Not sure if this will work I wanted something in my basement to alert me if my sump pump stopped working or my water heater started leaking. I am not sure the sound from these will be loud enough to hear upstairs. My lower level is open to the upper (I don't have a basement door for example) and I am still doubtful that the warning sound will be loud enough. I have only had this product a few weeks so I also do not know how long the batteries will actually work. There is no way to replace the batteries, so when the batteries die you have to buy another alarm. The alarms are supposed to last up to three years. October 3, 2013
Water leak alarms The alarms are very quiet, would not hear if they went off. March 24, 2014
Have not been able to test them We just received our leak detectors, and when testing them with water, they did work. It is our hope that we will not need them, but they are next to our sump-pumps, and that helps us to sleep better, at night. Sorry that we could not give your product a better rating. If you would ask us in a couple of months, we would be able to let you know more. Thank you for asking for our opinion. April 16, 2014
Great idea - poor performance Nice look and price. The db rating needs to be substantially louder . March 8, 2012
No Way To Evaluate As These Are One-Time Use The sensors probably are fine, but since the instructions warn the buyer not to test them, there's now way to know. Also, I am VERY disappointed with Improvements Catalog for sending these in a hugely oversize box and for sending a product that had lost 1/3 its value. Instructions say to replace every 3 years, but the ones I got in March, 2012 are tagged "expire January 2014," or less than two years. As noted, very disappointed overall. March 21, 2012
Needs improvement Great idea, but in serious need of improvement. No where near loud enough! Actually had one go off under the kitchen sink. The wife heard it, but ONLY cause she walked into the kitchen & right up to the sink. Knew she could hear something, but not loud enough to figure out what it was. Between the two of us, we figured out what that "little annoying sound" was. Also, no way to replace the battery. Once the battery dies, we are expected to just throw it away & buy new ones. Wrong answer. If they made it LOUDER and gave me a way to replace the battery it would be worth the money. May 22, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Product:374700-Water Leak Alarm - Set of 3
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???