Top_Nav_v2_Font
  20 6 3 View All View All text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Improvements/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
15
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Shrub Jacket - Small is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shrub cover Every winter we have problems with the deer eating our holly bushes. I've tried to fence them off but the wind or heavy snow usually knocks them down. As I have yet to use these covers, I can't say for sure it works or not. It sure looks simple and was cost effective so had to give them a try.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Only used the shrub jackets once for a couple nights so far, but will be needing them again soon. They are good quality material and easy to put on the bushes. My only complaint is that the nylon cords at the top and bottom should have something on the end (a wooden/plastic/cork ball) so that the cord doesn't get pulled in. This happened to me and I had to cut the casing stitching to get to the cord and feed it back through. Other than that I think they are great!
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed Used them to cover planters containing faux plants for the winter season.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as described This was the first time buying a product to protect plants from the elements. This is very good quality and appears to be breathable while keeping away frost and snow. It has a handy tote for storage during the summer months. I will purchase more if and when the need arises.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shrub jackets EVER! I bought these shrub jackets for myself and loved them, so I am buying another set for my mother. We had an extremely harsh winter and when I took them off this spring, our shrubs were in excellent condition. We had the best looking shrubs on the block. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from eye pleasing I live in the city and use these on our upper deck. I actually purchased these covers for three five feet tall artificial topiaries. I wanted to cover them during snow storms to keep from weighing down the branches. The snow just slides right down these. I planned on removing the covers in between snow days, however these look so nice on our deck that I am leaving them in place till springtime. The matarial is light weight yet sturdy. I can tell that real trees or bushes will be able to breath thru the wrap. I was able to wrap three trees and still have plenty of wrapping left on the roll. I was able to staple the wrap around the trees so no needs for clips except for one at the top. Once wrapped it can be removed and reused. I could not have found a better item.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shrub Jacket This cover is being used to cover a limestone memorial/monument the Garden Club of Richfield springs erected to preserve from the salt & snow during our Upstate NY winters. We have not installed the cover as there has not been an appreciable amount of snow to date. I purchased several sizes and returned one cover with excellent service.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shrub Jackets-Great Product If you are looking for something that is durable and easy to use to protect your expensive landscaping, this is it. Great protection from winter burn and snow damage and they don't blow off. Very durable material. I ordered a second set for other shrubs. These will last a long time. Very pleased with them against the Buffalo winters.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is so easy and great to put around delicate plants. So.glad I ordered it.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find These shrub jackets were a great find. My wife and I always search through the catalog and say that we might want something. This time we acted. I was very impressed by the jackets when installing them. It took veryu little time and they are working well so far. Time and snowfall will tell the full picture. We liked them so much that we ordered four more for other shrubs. They will be the ideal solution.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shrub Jackets Mean Goodbye burlap We are always troubled by rabbits eating our shrubs over the winter. In the past we have used burlap to cover the bushes and that has worked well, but the burlap has to be cut to measure and tied up with twine, making the whole process long and difficult. Then the burlap only lasts one season. I was delighted to find these shrub jackets. The are SO EASY to put on the shrubs and close up tightly and securely. They seem like they will weather the sseason well, but it's too early to tell for sure. I have been telling everyone I know about these wonderful "improvements."
Date published: 2011-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Work! Not sure how well they would do in colder climates but here in Coastal Carolina the Shrub Jackets seem to be doing the job. They're easy to put on. Could be a one-person job but much easier with two. I do need to check the ties regularly. Strong winds will dislodge the fit.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features. These are the first covers I have found to protect my large 3x3 asparagus fern hanging baskets. Easy installation, large safety like pins to close any gaps, , sturdy fabric, attractive color and the plants emerge unscathed from the freeze. Thanks for this great product!
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! After struggling for years with stupid burlap I found these at my local store. A ton easier to use and so much prettier than what I was using before. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use even if you're over 70. The shrub jackets were easy to use even though my husband and I are in our 70s. They went on/over the plants without any problems. I especially like the huge safety pins that were included to insure that there are no gaps in the coverage. I also appreciate that there are pouches to store them after the bad weather has passed. Thank you for making this chore so much easier.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great products They are great easy to use easy to put on the schrubs
Date published: 2011-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect I ordered small shrub jackets for spring freeze/thaw protection for my micro-mini rose bushes. The jackets were so large, that I had to cut one into 3 to have it work for my tiny plants. The quality of the jackets are very good, but instead of the wimpy, useless ties on the sides, I would have the ability to order extra pins instead. (the Jackets come with 3 pins)The giant pins supplied with the shrub jackets are very nice (don't know how they would look after an entire winter outside) and I used 3 on each plant and cut down jacket. I have two extra jackets left over now and will use those next winter if I can get more pins. Bottom Line: Customers need to be able to order packages of extra pins for these to work on different types and sizes of shrubs.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We'll find out in the Spring if this works... I like to try to grow plants in the North (upstate NY) that generally are not for this region (too cold). Sometimes by strategically locating them, sometimes through winter covering. In this case, I'm covering a dwarf Pampas Grass (about 3-4 ft. tall & wide). The snow really beats up the typical rose bush covers so they only last a year or 2. I put this cover on the plant yesterday as we might be getting our 1st big snowstorm of the year. It went on quite easily and put heavy rocks around the base to prevent it from blowing away. Check with me in the Spring & I'll let you know how things worked out. I'm hoping that I can reuse this cover over multiple years. If yes, it's a bargain - if not, I got a dead plant and paid a lot for a failed experiment.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2 weeks after installation So far, so good with this product. I have just recently installed it on two aspraragus ferns to try and protect them from the winter's cold on a sheltered porch in Cleveland, OH. Not sure if they will do enough to keep them alive, but I thought it was worth a shot as they had grown really large this year. I usually buy new every year - if this works, I may not have to.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shrub Jacket Large I ordered this product to cover a large hydrangea plant. I thought that it would cover the plant, but, unfortunately, the plant is larger than this cover. I haven't used it for any other plants yet. I misjudged the size of the plant, so this is my fault and not the product. I plan on using it elsewhere. That is why I gave it the rating that I did. Plus, it is a little difficult to use.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from KEEP YOUR PLANTS COZY IN THE WINTER THIS IS A GOOD PRODUCT. HOWEVER, COULD BE IMPROVED WITH VERY LITTLE CHANGE. 1) THE TIES ARE VERY SHORT & DIFFICULT TO TIE IN A BOW. (NO KNOTS) 2) THE STRINGS NEED THE SLIDE STOPPERS TO KEEP THE STRINGS FROM PULLING THROUGH. THANK YOU.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shrub Jacket Ordering was very easy, delivery was very good, and the jacket looks good, it would have been very good it the top would completely close . Will know more after the first winter, Hope it protects my Myers Lemon tree.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simplifies the winterizing task We've been looking for a fast and efficient way of doing the once a year task of protecting our 12 azaleas and burning bushes from the deer and rabbits. These shrub jackets are a perfect solution.
Date published: 2011-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from shrub jacket These were easy to install, and held up in the heavy wind we had shortly after I covered the shrubs. The end of winter ail tell the story. The jackets fit into the landscape nicely, too.
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage I live in south central Texas. We usually have pretty mild winters, but usually have a few winter days where the temperature goes down to freezing. Have used sheets in the past to cover sensitive plants but decided I needed a specific product to cover the plants. I think these shrub jackets will work perfectly. The fabric appears strong enough to protect the plants, and I like that I can close the bag at the bottom. I think they should work very well.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solution for the price Bought a few of these in different sizes to protect shrubs that get smaller every winter due to deer. Look good with nice pattern and color. Material seems sturdy. Fairly easy to install once you do the first one to get the hang of it. Bought this larger one to replace one I bought last fall. We had couple of days of sustained 40-50 mph winds and the most exposed cover took off across the neighborhood somewhere; lost for good. Would suggest you use not just the ties, but one or two of the extra safety pin like clips included to be sure the covers are cinched up tight against wind gusts.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far it's good It finally got cold enough for me to try the shrub jacket. It wasn't a hard freeze, so I don't yet know how it will perform when the temperature is at or below freezing with a wind chill. For a night when it's around freezing for a few hours, it worked fine. Easy to set up and remove, no damage to the hibiscus I was trying to protect.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy shrub protection I needed simple protection from freezing winds for some newer shrubs. These fit the bill. Easy to put on.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for me... I returned this product due to it not being what I expected. I was looking for a tent-like product; slip on, stake to ground, adjust size and you are done. The quality of the product is great and is described properly on the site. It could work for many, but just not for me.
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BUSH COVERS I ORDERED THE LARGES THINKING THEY WOULD BE LARGE ENOUGH TO COVER MY GARDENIAS BUT THEY ARE NOT BIG ENOUGH TO COVER THEM! THEY ARE NOT BIG ENOUGH AT ALL, I USE A DOUBLE TOP SHEET TO COVER THEM NOW AND THESE COVERS ARE NOT EVEN AS BIG AS A TWIN SHEET! I AM DISAPPOINTED!
Date published: 2011-10-25
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_, sid_372679, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_improvements

You say it's breathable but can the sun go through the fabric?

I'd like to leave the jacket on for lengths of time and wanted to know if the plants would still get sun.
Asked by: 123Raleigh
Depending on how tightly you cinch the top, some sunlight will get in. I only use it in the winter and take it off once the temps begin to warm.
Answered by: tazlady
Date published: 2015-11-19

Which protects more? The Shrub Jacket or the Winter Shrub Cover?

Both seem to do the same job, but while the jacket is also breathable, it is not a mesh and I would think might be more effective at blocking winds and retaining heat from sunlight. But, as there is no indication on the website as to what temperatures they could both withstand and still protect the plants inside, I have no way of knowing for sure. Perhaps the mesh would allow extra sunlight and heat to reach the plants.
Asked by: Palau
I just bought the shrub covers this year but have used the shrub jackets for two years. The jackets don't hold up and are a pain to put on. I don't think either type retains heat. I think they work in the following way. If the plant is covered with snow, that acts as insulation. The cover should work better than the jacket because the snow is actually off more of the plant. If there is no snow, then the darker color of the cover should transmit more heat to the plant than the jacket would. Again, since the cover is not actually in full contact with the plant, it should offer better wind protection than the jacket. Rain can go more easily through the cover than the jacket. The cover is certainly easier to deal with but the price is really only justified if they hold up longer than the two years I got with the jackets.
Answered by: NixB
Date published: 2017-01-14
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_, sid_372679, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_improvements
Product:372679-Shrub Jackets
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
Welcome to your Idea Board
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]