Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  20 6 3 View All View All text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Improvements/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
15
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 step stool This55 is a lovely piece of furniture & very useful for getting to that high shelf. The walnut wood is very nice. December 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a nice ladder!!! Re-did our master closet with a custom system. The upper shelves are too high for me to reach. Didn't want to have to get our step-ladder every time I wanted to get to the top shelves. So wanted to find one that I could leave in the closet all the time. It had to look like the quality of the new system, not just an ordinary utilitarian step-ladder. Found a different wood ladder on-line but it was just so-so and had big chrome screws showing which I didn't like. Then I found this one!! Looked perfect. And it is! Seems to be very well made and looks so nice. Bought two oil-rubbed-bronze 'robe' hangers at Lowe's so could hang the ladder in the closet. All works perfectly and was a great finishing touch to our beautiful new closet. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wooden Folding Stool a Good Deal Was surprised by how quickly the stool arrived; and delighted that no assembly was required. This item is a good value, and looks great in my library. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by wife loves it I bought this for my wife, because she has trouble reaching the top of the cabinets in our house. When she got it she looked at it and loved it. She can stand on it and not worry, because, it is very sturdy, it folds up nicely and not in the way. Great product. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Folding ladder This solid little folding ladder is everything that other reviewers said it would be: solid, good looking, affordable, and the perfect solution to our needs. We wanted a ladder that would look good in our library and that would allow us to reach the top shelves. This ladder does it. January 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a great step stool The step stool folds nice and thin and so perfect for the space I had. Some of the screw covering buttons were missing, but otherwise the construction is sturdy. There was no assembly required and am happy to say. It is a bit heavier than I expected, but a great addition to my kitchen. January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Constructed Well I am very pleased with my Ashford 3-Step folding stool. It is very attractive, very stable, I can reach tall shelves in my closet and feel comfortable getting up and down the steps and it is attractive enough to just leave open in the closet. February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and sturdy! I love this step ladder. It is the perfect addition to my wine vault and library. There was no assembly necessary, it is extremely sturdy and the wood finish is gorgeous! March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and beautiful! I just had my master closet remodeled and it's beautiful; but I needed a stepladder to reach the highest shelves. I wanted the ladder to be just as nice as the closet and it truly is! It's like a piece of furniture, honestly. Well built and very high quality. Folds up very flat and stores easily. If you're considering it, don't hesitate. You'll be very happy, I'm sure. March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best looking step stool I've ever had Just used for a walk-in closet but functions and looks great. March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stool This is a heavy duty stool that I use in my kitchen. The quality seems to be great, and it allows me to climb higher than the two step stool that I have used. I also feel very safe and secure. April 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good purchase This stepladder is exactly what I wanted for my new office and kitchen, I've had my eye on it for at least a couple of years. It arrived ready to unfold and use -- no assembly needed. The cream color matches my bead board and trim perfectly, and the simple classic style coordinates well -- so much so that I propped it against a wall for display rather than hide it away. This is a very handy and nicely constructed item. I am using often. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Durable kitchen step stool. I have been looking for quite a while for a wooden step stool that would fold flat if needed, but look good even if leaning against the wall in my kitchen. The step stool is exactly as described. It arrived quickly and in good condition. Contrary to some of the reviews...I found the step stool in perfect condition and easy to use. It is a little heavier then I would have liked, but I wanted wood, and wood is heavier so that was to be expected. It feels steady and secure for climbing/standing. It is a little pricier then I wanted but I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a little boost in the kitchen. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Convenient This Step Stool definitely serves it's purpose. I thought it would have been too short, but actually it is the perfect height and very sturdy. I feel safe when I am using it and It folds nicely and fits in a small space. The color is great and actually goes with my décor so I could leave it out if I wanted to. I thought it was kind of expensive but after receiving it I think it is definitely worth the money. I am sure I will have it for a very, very long time. I also like the fact that it is made of solid wood. Most step-stools are metal and not as attractive. I am very pleased with my purchase. May 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by kitchen step stool I had been looking for several months for an attractive step ladder I could leave open in the kitchen for ease of use. This product is as it was described in the catalogue. It is heavier and more bulky than I anticipated. Therefore, I cannot leave it open as it takes up a lot of space but is easy to open and very sturdy. October 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not made in USA. This step-stool is well made and is nicely finished. From the way it is constructed, it is likely to be durable and hold-up well to daily use. Too soon to tell. Unfortunately, its another imported product. I'd gladly pay a bit more for "Made in the USA". Wake up America. November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice looking ladder for library doubt this would hold claimed weight- feels like if I got on it too quick, it would break under me. January 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Step Ladder This was the first nice looking, 3 step ladder I've been able to find. Once it arrived I was very impressed by the quality and ease of use. February 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Classy folding stool I really love this wooden folding stool. I needed easy access to a stool to reach items in my kitchen but wanted something sturdy and attractive that I was not ashamed to leave out in view. This folding stool was just the thing. It looks like a piece of furniture but is very strong and functional. An excellent buy! March 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like it !! It was together out of the box. Works great - no issues found! May 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks good I need a ladder in my Butler's Pantry, but it is visible from other areas of the house....so wanted one that looked good. This one does. It seems to be heavy duty enough...have not used it a lot yet, but when I have, it seems sturdy and stable. It looks good too. My husband found a nice hook for the wall and we hang it when not in use. It folds flat and is out of the way when hanging. Overall, am happy with the purchase. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice product Have only had the step stool a couple weeks. It's very attractive and looks great in the study open or folded. 3 step height is good for reaching anything I need to on upper ceiling height book shelves. Seems stable enough. Durability needs more time testing before I can comment on that aspect. Overall happy with the product and would recommend it to a friend. September 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the wide step feature I wanted this for my walk in closet that has some high shelves. It had to tuck away neatly and open and close easily. As a senior I enjoy not having to balance on a rung, but am able to place my foot firmly on a wide step. The nylon protectors on the feet also do not hurt my hard wood floors. November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Wood Step Ladder - Nice enough to leave out all the time I recently remodeled my kitchen and needed a step stool that I could leave out all the time so I could reach the top of my new cabinets (42" - go all the way up to the ceiling). I am so happy I found this. The wood is a very pretty color and I didn't have to assemble a thing. My only complaint (which is small) is that since the steps open to the back, it is a little tight to get your whole foot onto the step. Again, it is minor, but may be useful info for someone with large feet. Also, I believe it states that the max weight is 225; however, I would be surprised if it would hold that much weight. It's creaked a few times when I got on it and I am no were near that much. With all that, I would definitely buy again. Good quality, color and price. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product was just what we were looking for. Since it's used in the kitchen often, we leave it out. It looks like a nice piece of furniture. It may not be considered quality craftsmanship but it looks a lot better than our old metal stool. It does take some time to adjust to the steps when descending. February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Sturdy Bought two of these for the Master walk-in closets. They have a very rich look, are very sturdy and well-made, however I agree with other reviews in that they are quite heavy! The way they open takes some getting used to and you really have to watch your fingers/hands so you don't get pinched---that is the reason for 4 Stars instead of 5. I recommend leaving them in the closet and not moving them from room to room, get a lightweight aluminum step stool for that. Otherwise they look great and really serve the purpose. I recommend anyone considering them to buy from Improvements, they are the best price I found online, and were shipped quickly. June 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product This step stool is very nice. A little pricey but I did get a discount which made me very happy. I am very happy so far with this product. I would recommend it. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very handy I have some high shelves in my closet and this stool is sturdy and good height to reach what I need. It is pricey but nice looking. It folds for storage and I feel safe standing on it October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy and Stylish I retired my old shop step stool in favor of this nicer-looking model since I need it out for constant use in my kitchen. It would be great hanging on a wall, but I have no wall space so it sits at the end of the counter. It is very slim when folded so it takes up very little room. I like the tall handle to steady myself from the second step. It folds and unfolds easily, arrived completely assembled, but is a bit heavy and unwieldy compared to my old one. This stool holds up to 250 lbs. November 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent Purchase, But Am Happy With It. The look and function is what we wanted and the quality seems to be good. We will have to see about durability, although there doesn't appear to be any reason that it won't serve us well. May 31, 2014
  • 2016-07-25 T16:50:30.069-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_150, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_382859, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
2 Questions : 4 Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

Helpful hint: you'll find product measurements, dimensions and related information under the Specifications and Instructions tabs above.
 
 
« Back
 
 
Is the height to the top of the handle 48" or is that the height to the top step? Re: Ashford 3-step folding stool
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
9 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Louie70 is loaded.
Additional information about Louie70 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 Person needs an answerI have this question too

Answers

Answer: 
48" is to very top of center arch, when the ladder is folded flat. The top step is 27" from the floor when the ladder is fully opened to use.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
7 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Helena, AL
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JanetwanttobeDesigner is loaded.
Additional information about JanetwanttobeDesigner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
When folded the total height is 48". When unfolded the height of the top step is 27", however it is not recommended to actually stand on the top step.
7 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Vancouver, WA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about outdoorperson is loaded.
Additional information about outdoorperson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your question. 48"h is the total height. In the 'Specifications' tab, it states that the top step is 28"h.
8 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Cleveland, OH
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about BuyingStaff is loaded.
Additional information about BuyingStaff could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bone is loaded.
Additional information about Bone could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 Person needs an answerI have this question too

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your question.

The width of the still 16 1/2". The stool is 2" thick when it is closed.
2 months ago
Customer Avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ProductSpecialist is loaded.
Additional information about ProductSpecialist could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2016-07-25 T16:49:46.611-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_382859, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • 2016-07-25 T16:49:46.614-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_382859, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
Product:382859-Ashford 3-Step Folding Stool
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???